The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Registration Help /Rules/ Tutorials/New Member Introductions > New Member Introductions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Another New Member

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TheMadMecha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Another New Member
    Posted: Oct 14 2019 at 2:24pm
Hey folks, I am new to M1 Carbines, but I honestly bumped into this website when doing research on the one I just bought, so I figured I would sign up!

I managed to pick up a Standard Products with a 2144XXX serial.  Story on the rifle goes that it was bought in the late 50s from the CMP by the previous owner's father (even showed me the original receipt from the CMP, a whooping $20 with shipping!).  It was passed down to him at some point to which he tried to tactical it out, but it mostly sat in a safe.  I bought it from him about 2 weeks ago and have been working on trying to get it 1) back to original WWII configuration, and 2) so I can use it for reenacting.  Luckily he kept the original stock and handguard so it was just a few turns of a screw driver.

Thanks to massive help from this site I know A LOT to look out for, and found the following:

- Underwood 12-43 dated barrel (which is in really good shape)
- Round bolt
- Type V slide
- Inland trigger housing
- Irwin replacement stock
- Two rivet deep sight groove handguard
- Type II barrel band
- Winchester hammer

Right now I am putting all the info on the rifle onto the data sheet (which is AMAZING to have, I'm so glad someone put that together).

I was originally going to look into getting it adapted for blanks, but with a barrel in this good of shape and prominence I am having second thoughts on drilling and tapping the barrel for a set screw and looking for other options.