Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > General Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Gas Cylinder/Piston/Nut question

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M1WAM21 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Gas Cylinder/Piston/Nut question
    Posted: Jan 22 2022 at 9:38am
Greetings -

Fortunate to have inherited an imported (Blue Sky) Inland carbine a few months ago, and have been learning all I can from this forum...it is great.  It shoots fine, but I noticed the slide was hitting the hand guard a bit, so I studied as many pictures as I could, and tried to come up with the right solution for the pointed portion of the slide making a small dent in the center of the hand guard..  The slide is a Type V slide, marked 7160091.  It appears to me that the forward slide stop is actually against the gas cylinder.   

Couple of rookie questions.  The gas piston nut had been staked, but it came off easily, and I cleaned all the threads as well as the gas piston.  I made the decision to order a new piston and type II nut from Amherst, as their website indicated they were both USGI equipment. My thought being, a new piston and and nut would stop the slide a little sooner, so that the point of the deflector portion of the slide, would not contact the hand guard.  First question is what is the actual length of the gas piston supposed to be?  

Original:    0.635" overall length
0.398" Head diameter
0.299" Shaft diameter

New: 0.693"  overall length
same head and shaft diameters as the original.

Does the gas piston itself wear down that much over time?  I'm sure it depends on how much it has been shot.