Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Infrared Scopes and Equipment, Night Vision
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Attention Owners: Type F & Type AM Metascopes

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote sleeplessnashadow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Attention Owners: Type F & Type AM Metascopes
    Posted: Mar 22 2020 at 12:04am
In regards to radiation levels I've examined 4 Type AM metascopes. Recently I was able to examine a Type F metascope, the first I've examined.

Explaining the readings from a Geiger counter can get confusing. Particularly when trying to equate those readings to safe and various degrees of unsafe. See my prior post on these two metascopes for links to reliable reference sources. A disclaimer: I'm no expert on this subject. If you see something here that is incorrect please let us know.

This is a nutshell version with the intent of conveying a general concept and soliciting your help.

Of most importance and the reason for this post .... radiation levels from the Type F metascope I examined recently were far greater than the 4 Type AM metascopes I've examined. The "safe" distance with each of the 4 Type AM's individually was 18" (12" was in the safe level, but being cautious here). Having more than one Type AM the radiation levels were additive. Meaning 36" for two together. The "safe" distance with the single Type F metascope was 6 feet. Why so much greater than the Type AM I don't know. I have not found info on how much radium was used in either device. The type of radiation detected and measured was gamma radiation.

I don't know if every Type F has this level of radiation. I've only examined the one. I'm hoping others will get access to a Geiger counter, learn how to use it, and share what they learn so we can determine consistencies and/or inconsistencies.