The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Safety/ Accuracy/Shooting/Ammunition/Care and Maintenance
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Type III Band removal

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jcarr15 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Type III Band removal
    Posted: Feb 14 2022 at 7:16pm
Good evening 
I am a rookie carbine owner and haven’t had any experience with military surplus rifles. The bulk of my firearms experience has been with shotguns and lever action .22 rifles.  I just acquired two import carbines after having an interest in them for severql years. One is a Quality Hardware and the other is a National Postal Meter. Both appear to have been rebuilt with later sights and bayonet lug barrel bands. Bores look great on both and plan to use them at my local range and plinking around our property.
In attempting to field strip the Quality Hardware I cannot get the barrel band off and do not want to force it, resulting in damage to the surrounding areas.
I also observed the handguards on both are “loose” to some degree even with the barrel band fully snug. Is this typical?
I have purchased several books from the list on main site and watched multiple videos to get familiar with these but wanted to get some practical tips on removing the stubborn barrel band to start my tear down and inspection to thoroughly clean everything before attempting to shoot it.
I’ll include some photos in post to follow.
Thanks
Justin 

jcarr15 View Drop Down
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jcarr15 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb 14 2022 at 7:22pm
jcarr15 View Drop Down
Recruit
Recruit