The Carbine Collectors Club

Click on the image above to learn more about the M1 Carbine

Forum Home Forum Home > The Club > Registration Help /Rules/ Tutorials/New Member Introductions > New Member Introductions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

"New" (old) Member

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Recruit
Recruit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Captain O Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: "New" (old) Member
    Posted: Sep 05 2016 at 7:39pm
I'm a US Navy Veteran (sworn in on 7/19/1975 in Portland, Oregon). I wan an Aviation Machinist's Mate Jet (read: Jet Mechanic) on J-52-P408 Pratt and Whitney Turbojet engines on the EA6B Prowler (flown by both the US Navy and the US Marine Corps). Thumbs Up

Father was a Boatswain's Mate 1st Class (passed, but not advanced to Chief Petty Officer 13 times). Dad served as a "frogman" in the Underwater Demolition Team (the forerunners to today's SEALS). He was also a member of the Navy Rifle Team. (Yes, I literally "learned to shoot at daddy's knee"). 

While I enjoy the higher-powered rifles, I really enjoy the .30 Carbine! 17 years ago I had a Universal whose front sight was tilted to the left, but still shot very well. I sold it when my wife died August 31, 1999 to make ends meet. Broken Heart Cry

In the near future, I will have a new Auto Ordnance AOM 130 M1 Carbine. While prone to being slightly "out of spec" some of these rifles turn out running rather well. I already have a plan when it comes to ridding myself of the poorly manufactured 15-round factory magazine. (I have already purchased five, 30-round aftermarket magazines from Keepshooting).

I'll be seeing you all on the Forum.

"Political correctness is fascism disguised as manners." - George Carlin

"Fast is fine, but accuracy is final." - Wyatt Earp

Charles View Drop Down
Grunt
Grunt